Jones' Farmer Blog

Behind the scenes and lessons at Jones Family Farms in Shelton, CT

A Trip Off the Farm

Leave a comment

Jean Jones and I found a quiet time  between pumpkin and Christmas tree seasons to travel to Boston to attend the annual Food and Nutrition Conference and Expo put on by the American Dietetic Association. This conference is for nutrition professionals and is held at a different location around the country each year. Jean is a registered dietitian, and I am a newly credentialed dietetic technician. I was very excited to be given this opportunity to attend the conference.

The conference lasted for four days. Each day was filled with seminars,demonstrations, and expos. There was so much to see and do! I was able to meet people from all across the country, as well as see a former classmate and professor from the University of New Hampshire where I graduated in May. There were over 11,000 people in attendance at the conference.

I was able to attend seminars on marketing, gardening programs for school children, the “green revolution in food”, as well as much more. Jean and I were also able to attend some special events that included an outing to a seafood restaurant where we enjoyed a talk about sustainable seafood, a “film feastival” where we had a buffet meal and then watched three videos, including one on fair trade coffee, and a breakfast that included a panel discussion about organic foods.

The great thing about these conferences is that there are so many options for seminars, that you can really tailor the experience to your interests. I was able to do a lot that had to do with food and agriculture, while people more interested in medical issues had lots to choose from in that area.

This conference gave me many things to aid me in my future in food and nutrition. It was great to get away from the farm for a little while and explore the city of Boston. I am grateful to the Jones’ for giving me the opportunity to attend.

Leave a Reply

