Jones' Farmer Blog

Behind the scenes and lessons at Jones Family Farms in Shelton, CT

A Wonderful Year

Leave a comment

It almost seems like yesterday that I arrived in Connecticut and unpacked my bags for a seven month apprenticeship at Jones Family Farms. Now those seven months have passed, and once again the bags are packed and my car is ready to head back to my home state of New Hampshire. I have had the chance to participate in so many interesting activities and learn so many new things here at the farm. I have gained a greater awareness and appreciation of local foods and agriculture. Through rain, mud, sun, and snow, I have learned about farming, food, and so much more.

I want to thank the Jones family for giving me this wonderful opportunity to be an apprentice at their farm. It was a wonderful experience that will benefit me for many years to come. I also want to thank Allyson, my manager and roommate, for her instruction and support. I’ll miss those late evening trips to Ferris Acres!

Looking back over these past seven months, it is neat to see all of the things that I have been able to do. Some tasks were a challenge and others were a joy. Some make me laugh when I think back on them. As I leave the farm and head on to new adventures, my advice for apprentices to come would be, make sure to watch out for snakes hiding under lettuce plants, and always take the tractor out of gear before letting off the clutch! 🙂

It has been a lot of fun. Thank you, Jones Family Farms!

~Emily

Leave a Reply

